Who lives off grid?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Who lives off grid?

My DH and I want to build a cabin that is around 800 sq. ft....2 bedrooms/1 bathrm...with a sloped roof towards the south...we figure we will need a system to provide 20 kWh a day...is it possible to have a solar power settle up to provide Us with enough energy to live off grid? I'am a total green horn when it comes to this type of thing, but we figure it's worth looking into. Thanks very much! Janine

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Might be tough in the winter. How many cloudy days do you have every year? Are you winters gray and dreary or mostly sunny? How many hours of daylight do you get in winter? And if you live where there is much snow, how will you clear the roof if the snow gets too deep and heavy on your roof? We get enough snow on our roof that my husband bought a baby snowblower to clear it. Even a light snowfall can cover up your solar panels pretty effectively.

I'm no expert either, but these are just questions I've had about our own situation.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Those are good points...well this past winter was very sunny...and I guess climbing the roof in the winter may be a bit scary when we are older(have to think of these things as we are not going to be in our 30's forever). Lots to consider along with the costs to start up and maintain it. Thanks for posting!

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

If the roof has a steep pitch, that would help keep snow from collecting, but my point was that you can't walk on solar panels. At least, I assume you can't. Therefore, how would you clear the snow?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

That is an excellent question...which I didn't even think of...are they hot and the snow just melts...I think it would be a good thing to question a person who owns this type of system. See this is why I'm green lol.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug