Consolidation...?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Question Consolidation...?

I am brand new to the world of loans and financing, and I've got a question. I've got 7 Sallie Mae student loans. They each have their own beginning balance and variable interest rate, but Sallie Mae clumps them all together and my payments get divided up evenly between the 7. Three of them are at 4.21%, and four are at 6.8%. Those don't seem that bad (though I wouldn't know), just looking at the numbers, but I always cringe when I look at my account and see $2-3 interest being added each day. In your opinion, would consolidating get me a lower interest rate?

I also have noticed that Sallie Mae gives me no option to pay straight to the principal. This month, DH got a bit of money from his company for profit sharing. On the 16th, I paid $39.xx. Of course, my last payment was on the first of December, and since then about $29 interest had been added, so only $9.xx of his profit sharing benefits actually got through to make a dent on our principal. I've always gotten advice to pay extra straight to the principal, but SM won't give me that option. Would consolidating change my situation? Do you switch loan companies when you consolidate?

I need some expert advice!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Doesn't looking at that daily interest just make your stomach hurt? I hate seeing it on my car loan but looking at it does make me want to pay it off faster.
    I am not sure what the going rate on loans are now. It might be a good idea to reasearch to see if you can get anything lower then %6.8 at least for those 4 loans. I may be wrong but %4.21 sounds pretty good on the other 3. You may have trouble finding anything lower then the %4.21 and I definatly would not refinance them in any way if you are going to pay a high percentage.