No 'Poo?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No 'Poo?

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default No 'Poo?

I see a thread from a few years back on the no 'poo method for hair (no shampoo).

I'm coming up on 10 years of doing this and am wondering if anyone else is a "no 'poo lifer"?

I usually use a baking soda "wash", but am down to once every 2-3 weeks on that. I do a diluted vinegar rinse once a week or 10 days in the winter, more in the summer when it's dusty/sweaty and my hair is grimy.

If I'm at a hotel, I go ahead and use the conditioner if I don't have baking soda and vinegar on me.

I also quit cutting/trimming my hair, or letting anyone else do it, in spring of 1989....immediately following what was supposed to be a 1/2 inch trim of the ends but was actually chopping a foot of length off (I'm still angry...29 years later) and cost me 20$. There has been zero negative result from not cutting or trimming my hair. I have had professonial jobs, I was a college professor and now am a government official, and a pony tail or braid or bun works as a professional hairdo whether I'm here in Idaho or presenting to offices in DC.

As an aside: How much do others spend for haircuts/shampoo etc? I have no idea how much I've saved, but I think it's alot.
    I do buy good boar bristle brushes and wooden combs but maybe 1 every 2-3 years so I don't think that is as expensive as cuts and shampoo.

Registered User Contrary Housewife's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

I'm still using minimal 'poo once or twice a week. My scalp is acclimated to that and does not get overly oily or gross.