Fruit trees.

Thread: Fruit trees.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Fruit trees.

Two questions-

I try to buy Dad a fruit tree once a year. A couple years ago I bought him a cherry tree. I haven't seen it yet but he says it's not doing much and that the Japanese beetles are really loving it. Any advice on how to deal with these?

Second- This year he said he can use a apple tree. I was planning on buying from Gurney's because that's where I get them usually. I'd like something that would bear rather quickly but will also do well where he lives... Illinois. The fruit will likely be used just for snacking. Any of you pros have some tips on what variety and where to buy? thanks!
    Last edited by Nishu; 01-16-2009 at 03:56 PM.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Nishu, I'm no expert so I could be wrong on this but I believe cherry trees usually take about 3 years before they start producing fruit. We have one, we didn't plant, and a tree net works wonders for keeping birds and beetles off of it. HTH

Cat

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

My grandma (a lifelong farmer) told me that cherry trees need to cross pollinute, ie you need two of them to get fruit.

As for apples, go with what kind you (he) likes best.
    Red delicious are tasty, McIntosh's are good for eating, baking plus they store well, honeycrisp are really sweet. Ask him what kind he buys when he goes to the store and get him that kind.

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

I, too, am a fan of honeycrisp.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries