Why did you start gardening?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Why did you start gardening?

While browsing some garden and food blogs, I came upon some statistics about how many new veg gardeners there are. The timing of the uptick from 34% of us households growing veg in 2009 to 54% in 2010 coincides almost directly with the fall of Lehman Brothers, kinda interesting. I can say that the economy was definitely the reason I got interested in gardening, but not to save money. Work as a farm hand seemed to be the only non-service job I could get when I graduated in 2009, I thought it was a fall back, but it became my leading passion in life. What got everyone here into growing their own?

Registered User Contrary Housewife's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

There's always been a vegetable garden in my life. My mom grew up on a farm, and my dad's parents were children of the Depression and WW2, they always had a garden. Wherever we lived , when it was possible we had a garden too. As an adult it's been the same way for me, even if it was just a few tomatoes on my apartment patio.
    Stop trying to organize all of your family’s crap. If organization worked for you, you’d have rocked it by now. It’s time to ditch stuff and de-crapify your world.

If you're not using the stuff in your home, get rid of it. You're not going to start using it more by shoving it into a closet.

Use it up, Wear it out,
    Make it do, Or do without. ~unknown

Because we, the people, have the power to build a better future. KH

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Have always planted "something" -- even when I lived in an upstairs apartment in college, I planted containers full of salad stuff. It just tastes better when you grow it your self.

As I got older, I worried about the additives and their effects on my children, so I grew my own to avoid many herbicides, pesticides, extra sugar, salt, preservatives in prepackaged foods.