frugal birthday ideas

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default frugal birthday ideas

Hello All! I am not sure if I am posting this in the right place, but here goes. As I am new to this I have many questions. But the most important one I have is this. My Sons 8th birthday is in a few weeks. We have already invited the usual 10 adults plus about 10 kids (which about half usually show up). My son wants the Pokemon theme and I have the tablecloth and candle things from $ store. He wants a Poke ice cream cake (to the tune of $31.00) and we usually have many munchies, drinks and order lots of pizza. I don't have a ton of money this month as property taxes are due also. PLEASE if you have any ideas on how to do all this on a budget, plus a few games and/or treat bags, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

When my kids were little one of the craft shops rented specialty Wilton cake pans.

I made My Little Pony cakes for dd and Transformers for ds.

It was simple to decorate. You bake the cakes in the shape pans, and then use a star icing tip to pipe coloured stars to fill in the cake.

Like using coloured dots to colour in a picture.

Another thing is to make a slab cake, ice it, and then use colour icing to make a picture by "drawing" the lines with a narrow tip that makes a thin string of icing.

Fill in like colouring a picture using the star tip.

OK that works best if you invest in a tiny set of Wilton paste food colouring which lasts a lifetime. You only dip a toothpick in to take out enough to colour an entire bowl of icing.

And the colours are rich and strong.

I threw mine away after the kids got older. it's the sort of thing you use when they are the party age and it's great to have some on hand.

I wasn't into doing cakes for showers and weddings or I'd have kept the paste colours.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

oh and use plain strong ziplock freezer bags, cut the corner and insert the icing tip for a cheap disposable icing bag.