Do You Do Weekly Meal Prep?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Do You Do Weekly Meal Prep?

Do You Do Weekly Meal Prep?-meal-prep.jpg

My son spends one day each week, planning and prepping his meals for the week.

I am curious how many of you do something like this?

I would love to know your process for this.

Do you put everything in Tupperware type containers or do you prep and freeze?
    Follow Frugal Village on Facebook and Pinterest!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I do, I just recently started doing it because I started a new job and a new weight loss diet plan at the same time last month (so I'm by no means an expert). Basically, I'm doing a low carb diet or ketogenic diet. I have always tried to grocery shop only once a week and meal plan but that never really worked out over the long term and with fickle tastes in my household.

Basically, on my sunday (which is everyone else's thursday) I shop and then prepare my basics, which are:
    12 roasted chicken thighs
    a 3 lbs meatloaf
    1 lbs of bacon
    18 hard boiled eggs
    two cauliflower heads made into cauli-mash
    and I cut up veggies to grab and go.

I have to-go trays that are like bento boxes with three compartments and I put a days worth of food in one tray. So, this week I have cauli-mash, one chicken thigh, a slice of meatloaf, an egg, a slice of bacon, and seeded and halved mini sweet peppers (they were two for one bags), and a wedge of laughing cow cheese. That's almost 800 calories in the one tray, and less then 14 net carbs. Then I'll have a few snacks throughout the day like cheese sticks, extra veggies dipped in ranch, or a protein bar. The kiddo seems to enjoy the cauli-mash just fine so I'm not making any additional foods for him, he can eat his carbs in bread and cereal of he wants, lol.