Hello All, New Member posting for the first time
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Hello All, New Member posting for the first time

Hi All,

I'm new to cast iron cooking; a had a camping cast iron set, Wenzel, I bought years ago when my kids were into Boy Scouting but didn't really use it much. I have recently retired and taken an interest in cooking in general and the use of cast iron or carbon steel cookware. I spent several weeks viewing the numerous U-Tube cooking with cast iron or carbon steel videos and thought my next step should be to join a good forum. So, here I am.

I've re-seasoned my 12" CI skillet and had good results with eggs not sticking.

I just purchased a Lodge carbon steel 12' skillet and used it for the first time this morning cooking hash and eggs; using medium heat and a little canola oil the hash stuck big time; after that cleaned up with a little boiling water and cooked eggs (with a little butter) with no sticking.

I'm thinking that the Lodge skillet could benefit from additional seasoning and I'm attempting to re-season over the original factory seasoning with canola oil heating the skillet to 450 for about an hour.

Has anyone re-seasoned an existing seasoned pan with Flax Oil without stripping the old seasoning off with any success?

Regards,

Mark

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Hi and welcome!

There are some posts from various members about cast iron cookware here at FV, but I have no idea in what thread they would be. Sorry!

Registered User Contrary Housewife's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Mark,

The first time you cook with a clean pan stuff will stick. And probably the second and third times. Just cook bacon in it as often as possible and it'll be fine.