Wonder Oven

Thread: Wonder Oven

Registered User alaska_tiger_36's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Wonder Oven

I was surfing the net last night and came across the "Wonder Oven." It looks to be an energy saver and can be made fairly easily. Has any one here ever used one? Or know anything about them?

How to make your own:
    wonder box | The Thermal Cooker Thermal Cooking Weblog

Cooking in it;
    Wonder Oven 101: Cooking Meat | My Food Storage Cookbook
    My Year Living On Food Storage: A Word about Wonder Ovens

Misc Info:
    10 Reasons to Have a Wonder Oven - American Preppers Network

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Cooking with a bean bag chair. Who knew? Interesting.

I have no experience with this device. The only concern I would have would be keeping the food at a safe temp till it's time to serve it.

Bean bag chairs seem cheap and plentiful at garage sales. It probably wouldn't cost much to pick up some of those to give this a try. Maybe some would be available on Freecycle.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

So would my bf. m He would have a thermometer attached to it somehow....just like when we solar cook.

I didn't even give garages sales or freecycle a thought. This may be a experiment that we put off until garage sale season.

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Camp Chef Dutch ovens all have a notch in the lids and pots to put a thermometer into. A remote thermometer would work that way, left inside the oven. I think so, anyway. Dutch oven cooking is a great survival skill too, and having one, if you don't have one, would give you lots of options for cooking in an emergency situation.

There are other remote thermometers available. Might be worth a look. I know a lot of people who use smokers use them to make sure the temps in the smoker stay where they need to be.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Thanks I will check them out!