Healthy Eating

Thread: Healthy Eating

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Healthy Eating

Hello Everyone,

I just recently joined frugal village and am excited to start learning new tips and tricks to enhance different areas of my life. One of the most important areas I'm trying to change is my eating habits. My husband and I are trying to find ways to eat healthy (as organic as possible) without breaking the bank. We also need help with ideas for healthy meals for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Does anyone have any ideas/tips that can help us out in this area? Thank you!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

I've been eating 80%-90% organic for many years. I think the first step is to avoid the "dirty dozen" fruit and vegetables and replace with organic. You didn't say where you lived and that makes a big difference in the cost of going organic. If you live near a Trader Joe's, that'll help.

Some of the cheap organic things I buy are dried beans (all different kinds) and gluten-free, organic oats. You can make overnight refrigerator oatmeal with the oats (just make sure they aren't instant.) Organic Greek Yogurt is also a staple in my home. It can replace sour cream in any recipe. It has much more protein. I buy fat free, plain. I found that organic or even free range meat tastes so much better and it takes less to feel full and satisfied. I look for frozen fruit and veggies on sale. I use fruit for smoothies (those are my desserts.) Drink lots of quality water to keep your system flushed out. I don't do alcohol or coffee so water is what I drink. Once in awhile I'll have some organic milk but not that often. Brown and black rice are another organic staple. I also found slicing beef or chicken very thin and stir frying with lots of veggies and rice/beans, makes the meat go farther and is tasty.