Sewing clothing?
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Sewing clothing?

I have recently taken up an interest in sewing. I think I could sew a lot of our clothes and it seems like it would save a lot of money. I mean, is it really that hard? I have no experience with sewing but think I’m going to get a sewing machine and give it a try. What I’m wondering is, is it really cost effective to make your own clothing? Also, is it possible for a beginner to pick up a pattern and sew a pair of pants or a jacket? What should I get to get started beside a sewing machine? Any input would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

I've found that fabric is expensive. Even with coupons for 40% off at JoAnns, my finished product still tends to cost more than I hope. It doesn't mean that I won't make my own dresses since I have a style that I really like, but I just don't expect to have a lot of savings for adult clothing. I am interested in restyling clothing though and recreating things to wear from thrift store finds. Others here do that and I want to learn.

I've been watching "Sewing with Nancy," "Stylicious" and "Threadbangers" and have been picking up on how clothing is constructed. It has helped inspire me.

Registered User Contrary Housewife's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Most of the time you will just be sewing straight seams, so it's not too difficult. There are a lot of "easy" patterns available for beginners and you do not need a fancy machine, just basic stitches. They will try to sell you on bells and whistles and 99% of it you do not need. A well running 2nd hand machine will suit your needs just fine.