Taking it to the next level
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Taking it to the next level

Some background.
    My husband and I have been folling a simple living lifestyle for over 17 years.

During the past two years we have downsized our home and we are living in a mobile home on rented land with a river view in a quite neighborhood on the outskirts of our city. We are about a 35 min bike ride from city center in one direction and 35 min ride to farm land in the other. It is very peaceful here, with just enough community within our neighborhood to keep us happy and socially connected.

We have eliminated many superfluous items such as furniture, books, plants, clothing and kitchen items and are in the process of reducing activities that require us to attend board and planning meetings....ending our committment to two groups at the end of the calendar year. All of which aligns well with our simple living/minimalist lifestyle.

My husband now works from home 50% of the time with us sharing one car. This requires that we bike more places and since the car is a lease, we are more intentional about how often we just take off and drive somewhere. To making doing things by bike easier we have invested in traditional and insulated pannier bags. Going car light has been a blessing and something we wish we had considered doing sooner.

The next step for me is making a choice to cut back on my exhibition schedule. For those who don't know me, I am a pen and ink artist and generally exhibit my work 10 months out of the year. Currently I have work in one museum (one state away), one gallerly (one state away) and one local gallery in my city. September will bring a weekend show in the next town over and Oct-Dec my work will be in a group exhibit at one of the local hospitals.