Christmas is coming!
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Christmas is coming!

Christmas is coming and I am wondering how other single moms handle the holidays and gifts etc.
    I don't do well at Christmas for various reasons. Emotionally I am a wreck, family gatherings often end up with my sister fighting everyone. I am on a fixed income and trying to figure out what to do. My ex is helping pay for the Santa gifts.
    I have to admit he has stepped up lately and it makes me think that maybe we could reconcile in the future but then he still is not good with money.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Well, I signed up for food stamps. I work full-time as a nurses assistant which is back-breaking work. Literally. Ex is not making enough money to pay child support. I get $360 a month but lately I have gotten $160 in the last 3, almost 4 months. It isn't like him to be behind so I know he is really struggling.
    I am going to use the foodstamps to get the kids some goodies to eat to put in their stockings. Things that we normally don't get because I scoff at junkfood. I will get them some Little Debbie snacks, small cereal packs, nuts, pringles, and single-serving fruit cups. That is if I get the foodstamps before Christmas which I am praying for.
    I did get a $50 Walmart giftcard for good attendance at work and I will get another $15 for our lousey Christmas bonus. I realized 2 days ago that I get 3 pay periods in December so I will be able to buy the kids some gifts but I am going to be very careful with my money! I will be wrapping their gifts in paper bags that I will decorate and cut, newspaper comics, and leftover wrapping paper from years' past.
    I already explained to the kids that money is tight this year so they won't be getting a ton of stuff and they were cool about it. They don't believe in Santa anymore and they understand times are rough right now. They are great kids!

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug