Hi. I'm new to the eastern Mississippi area
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Smile Hi. I'm new to the eastern Mississippi area

Hubby was laid off in 2010. After trying to work with a former co-worker to start up a business, he got serious about looking for another job. We were very lucky that he got three offers all at the same time but all of them required relocating. We decided on Mississippi.

We know no one here. It took us about 6 months to find a house to buy but now that we're here, there is so much we like. Our biggest problem, though, is developing friendships. We're in a rural area and everyone around here seems to have known each other forever (seriously - some families go back to the civil war or before!) We are definitely the "newbies".

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

Welcome from New York..Glad that your hubby found a job along with moving to a area that your family is happy with..I think you will find yourself quite comfortable here at the village lot's of great friendly caring member's we have here. Enjoy!
    Wife to Keith
    Mom of 3 boys

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Welcome to Mississippi!
    I'm in the central part of the state.
    As for making friends, it won't take too long - we're a very friendly bunch!
    If you have children, go to school events and meet the other parents.
    Or church, if you're a church-goer.
    Or just do what the rest of us do - strike up a conversation with a total stranger in the check out line at the grocery store, WalMart, Target, etc.

Again, welcome to our beautiful state!

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Well, CookieLee! I didn't realize you were in Mississippi! I was born down on the Coast and like you mentioned, all my relatives on my grandmother's side had lived there since...forever I think.