Wondering about something

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Wondering about something

Do you think it is an easier decision to stay home if you don't have as greater earning potential? Let me explain....
    A friend, for example- she is a sahm without a degree or trade- the benefits of her working even parttime for 6-7 bucks an hour - by the time you factor clothes,food,travel,childcare, etc -probably not worth it. So doesn't work and probably never will. Which is great, imo.

It seems like a harder choice to give up more money. I am completely disgusted with my profession at the moment, but the money is so good.
    Of course, once the kids are older, I will be grateful for the ability to have a good paying job... I am not ungrateful for having the degree, just wrestle with completely giving it up for a time.

I think I just need a different flex job.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug
    Blog Entries

well lets see, i have a degree in management with lots of experience even if a good portion of it was volunteer...i could earn near 20/hr...and after you factor in daycare for 2, clothes for work, food budget increase...i'd clear about 100/w....not too mention the tax differences at the end of the yr...so NO NOT worth it in the least to be away from my kids for that amnt of money..

you need to get something from your job, not just money.....if you get fulfillment from it..then keep at it...if its killing you for a few bucks you can make due without it....

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Feast or famine

For us, it is either feast (I'm working) or famine (I'm not working.)

We could survive on dh's income, but that would be it. We would have just enough money to have shelter, food, clothing and health insurance.

With my job, because I carry the health insurance, we make way more than we need, but we use the money to give generously, save for college bills and retirement, and pay off our last big debt, our mortgage.