Going Backwards
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going Backwards

Registered User jenloveschip2001's Avatar
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Going Backwards

I am kind of new to the village. The village has been so helpful. It is just nice to know that there are people out there that is going through what I am or have went through it at one time. I have been so stressed because it feels like we are going backwards. My husband was in the army stationed at FT Campbell KY. We owned our own home and was making it all on our own. Well after almost 6 yrs of service he got out on a med board. We had always known that we were going to move back home so three months before we were to get out we decided to buy a mobile home and put it on a piece of land that my father gave to us. The reason we did this instead of buying another place was because we couldn't buy something until we sold our house, and it took a lot longer than we had hoped. We could have rented but the payment on the mobile home is only $225 a month and we could not have rented a place for as cheap as that and when it is paid for it is ours to sell or whatever we want to do with it. We finally sold our house and we have been living here for almost 2 yrs. He has a good stable job and we are doing ok finacially but we want to pay down some more debt before we get a bigger home. We are thinking about building a house on the land that we have the mobile home on. But also since we moved up here it seem like realty has really went up. Also I don't want a big house payment either. For that to happen we will need a good sized down payment and that could take awhile and we are in tight quarters as it is, I don't want to have to wait 5 more yrs to get a house. We have thought about getting a double wide mobile home because you can get more sq ft for your money but I have always heard that the resell value isn't as good as a house. But we are not planing on selling anything because if we ever want to leave the land ha