Lazy kids

Thread: Lazy kids

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default Lazy kids

Hi All,

I'm new here and I'm not a stepmom, but a stepdad and I need some suggestions. We have two kids at home, a 10 year old girl and a 15 year old boy. They're generally good kids, but have totally not been taught life management skills.

Things are a bit better with my stepdaughter, but she often has to be supervised to get anything done. Back at her father's house, where she goes every other weekend, she has no responsibilities whatsoever. She gets to eat chips, watch TV all day, and basically do whatever she wants. She usually also comes back with money, and it always burns yet another hole in her pocket so no financial management skills there. I do have to admit I'm new at this, and we have a baby on the way.

Things were more or less okay with the stepson, but my fiancee has become increasingly lenient towards him in fear of him rebelling. His room looks like a pig sty, his chores are:

-Dishes twice a week
    -Vacuum his room once a week

The above were settled between him and his mom after he walked out on me and left the house.

The situation gets even more complicated because he has a different father than my stepdaughter and his father has a lot of money which he uses to buy him things all the time. Earlier I was able to make him do things by limiting his access to the computer, but his dad recently bought a laptop for him and he comes home happily saying "Now it's my computer so I can use it all I want." I should mention that his dad kicked him out of the house a year ago because he and his stepmom didn't get a long and she said "Either he goes or I go." So his father said, "you're going to live with your mom."

Now as I said, generally he's a great kid, but I will only go so far in terms of keeping the house clean. I have a business to run as well and it's becoming increasingly difficult.