NY using foreign co. for renewable/wind energy
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Default NY using foreign co. for renewable/wind energy

All,

If I could have your feedback on this, it would be appreciated. I am FURIOUS and am wondering if I'm overreacting to this issue since I am not a Protectionist.

I live in NY State- Niagara Falls to be precise. NY has a mandate that by 2015 (or close to it), 25% of the state's energy needs to be from alternative renewable sources (solar, wind, biofuel, water, etc). I'm all for that. The Falls generates a HUGE amount of energy for NY as you can imagine. I pay extra for the wind/solar alternatives to help out in my small way.

Here's the issue: Read an article on CNN.com yesterday discussing the pros and cons of building small wind farms on rural land in NY and paying the farmers a set fee per year over a 15 year land lease for the turbines. How it's pitting family member against family member. Still sounds ok to me... for the greater good and all that... The punchline buried near the end of the article?? The two companies running at least one of the largest wind operations in NY are owned by a partnership between a Spanish corporation and a Portugese corporation. Nothing against foreign companies, but can it be that NY STATE CANNOT find a US Energy Company to contract this out to???????? Really???

I'm furious !!

What are your thoughts? I'll find the article and post the link.
    Thanks for your feedback.

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Here is the link to the article.

Jen

http://www.cnn.com/2008/LIVING/wayof....ap/index.html

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug

Heading to bed so I'll read the article tomorrow just want to jump in and mention that there is a lot of Not in my back yard mentality going on as far as building these things goes.

4. Remove Advertisements
    FrugalVillage.com
    Advertisements

Post Thanks / WTG / Hug