Frugal Village Forums banner
61 - 80 of 106 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #61 ·
First week of summer:

-- potstickers, summer rolls, melon
-- l/o bbq chicken, kale salad
-- bacon, lettuce, tomato sandwiches, fruit
-- steak sandwich on baguette
-- spanakopita, tabouli (meatless)
-- salmon, vegetable
-- chicken curry, frozen veg, rice
 
  • Like
Reactions: marthamfi

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,126 Posts
We have many things planned so it may stretch into next week.... I'm thawing some items for the menu.
  • Beef Enchiladas
  • Smoked chicken for sandwiches and shredded bbq chicken
  • Crab cakes
  • Fried cod
  • Honey dijon chicken
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #63 ·
Not as hot this week, so there will be some cooking. Working from freezer and pantry still....

-- take out
-- chicken curry, rice, frozen veg
-- baked fish, broccoli
-- turkey club sandwiches, salad
-- grilled chicken, wild rice pilaf, zucchini
-- leftovers/salad
-- burger, fries
-- pork chops, garlic rice w/beans, zucchini
 
  • Like
Reactions: marthamfi

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #64 ·
First week of July

-- pork chops, rice w/beans, zucchini
-- chicken, salad
-- brats, potato salad
-- fish, leftover rice&beans
-- chicken, zucchini
-- pork dumplings, rice bowl
-- take out (gyros)
 
  • Like
Reactions: rujerro

·
Registered
Joined
·
475 Posts
Need to plan this week to use up some food stash:
Tuna and rice for 2 lunches
Eggs and garden greens for most breakfasts (I accidentally planted 100 radishes, apparently...the label on the garden says "arugula" but it is clearly daikon radish. Need to eat the greens as I thin them out)
Salads from garden greens for supper with sardines or salmon (the lettuce is all coming on, kale is withering in the heat, may as well eat it and plant more beets or something)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,126 Posts
My sister purchased some plants from Walmart..One was labeled "broccoli" and turned out to be a green cabbage.... The other was labelled "string bean" and is actually cucumbers.

My basil is growing nicely with the storms and heat. I'd like some bruschetta! Maybe we'll have streak with it this weekend.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #69 ·
In no particular order this week:

-- mac&cheese, chard
-- cubed steak, fries
-- gyros (take out)
-- fish, brussels sprouts
-- chili dogs, veg
-- (out)
-- chicken, veg

We have half of a leftover sheet cake, too.
 
  • Like
Reactions: marthamfi

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #70 ·
Lots of leftovers and using what's in the freezer:

-- (out)
-- fried rice
-- leftovers, cucumber salad
-- leftover rice, stir fried beef and vegs
-- baked fish, baked squash
-- chicken, brussels sprouts
-- leftovers (or cold cuts), cucumber
 
  • Like
Reactions: marthamfi

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
June
Tue 01 Jun Tomato soup with croutons, vanilla pudding with fruit
Wed, Jun 02, Meat cheese, Bavarian cabbage, potatoes / cabbage noodles
Thu 03 Jun Poppy seed noodles with baked apple, chicory fruit salad
Fri, Jun 04. Wild herb spinach, scrambled eggs and potatoes
Sa, 05. Jun Smoked salmon with herb dip and potato rösti, with lettuce
Sun, June 6th Roasted pork steak with vegetables and pepper cream sauce, served with boiled potatoes

Mon 07 Jun Potato goulash, compote
Tuesday, June 8th, semolina with fruit
Wed, Jun 09 Gluten-free gourmet tortillas Quark with fruit
Thu, Jun 10, pancakes with mirabelle plums
Fri, Jun 11, Turkey strips with rice
Sat, Jun 12 Tandoori cauliflower on lentil mango curry, basmati rice
Sun, June 13, Kassler with sauerkraut and potatoes

Mon, Jun 14, noodle soup, slice of bread
Tue, Jun 15, whether we can go out to eat again ???
Wed, Jun 16, sausage salad and fried potatoes
Thu, Jun 17 Rice pudding with sour cherries
Fri, Jun 18, pasta with tomato sauce
Sat, Jun 19, hash browns with applesauce
Sun, Jun 20 Roulades with red cabbage and dumplings

Mon, Jun 21, Cream of pea soup
Tue, Jun 22 grilled trout with potatoes salad with french dressing
Wed, Jun 23 Grilled sausage with potato salad
Thu, Jun 24 Potato pocket, salad with french dressing
Fri, Jun 25, carrot curry and whole grain rice
Sat, Jun 26 Quinoa with apple and nuts
Sun, Jun 27 Gyros with herb quark and rice

Mon, June 28th, fish with potato and herb salad
Tue, Jun 29 Potato waffle with quark dip
Wed, Jun 30, oven cheese with bread, salad
July
Thu, July 1st, pot pancakes with mirabelle plums
Fri, Jul 02, Spaghetti with vegetable bolognaise
Sat, Jul 03 Zucchini pancakes with herb quark
Sun 04 Jul. Minced dumplings with black salsify and potatoes

Mon, Jul 5th Quinoa with apple and nuts
Tue, Jul 6 Matjessalat with beetroot and potatoes
Wed 07 Jul Carrot curry and whole grain rice
Thu, Jul 8th Wild herb soup Slice of bread
Fri, Jul 9th Chicken with rice and beans, paella style
Sat, Jul 10, Fried potatoes with egg or aspic
Sun 11 Jul Chicken legs with tomato-chilli sauce and rice

Mon, Jul 12 Vegetable soup with marrow dumplings Slice of bread
Tue, Jul 13 Buckwheat risotto with fried mushrooms
Wed 14 Jul Farmer's breakfast
Thu, Jul 15, Stuffed zucchini, tomato sauce, vegetable rice
Fri, Jul 16, pasta with dill sauce and smoked fish
Sat, Jul 17, plum dumplings with brown butter and brown sugar
Sun, Jul 18 Szegedin goulash, potatoes

Mon, Jul 19 Potato soup with minced meat
Tue, Jul 20 Vegetable pellets with potato and herb salad
Wed, Jul 21, pasta with tomato salad
Thu, Jul 22, Fricassee with rice / potatoes and pickles
Fri, Jul 23 Bratwurst with Letscho and potatoes
Sat, Jul 24, Noodles with tomato sauce and fried sausage slices
Sun, Jul 25 Fried chicken breast with lemon butter sauce, corn, carrots and potatoes

Mon, Jul 26, sausage salad with rolls
Tue, Jul 27 Hazelnut pancakes with coconut and cinnamon quark
Wed, Jul 28 Turkey schnitzel on tomato gnocchi, with cucumber salad
Thu, Jul 29, ETW with JaWuGu
Fri, Jul 30, Pea falafel, yogurt dip salad
Sat, Jul 31 Roulades with red cabbage and dumplings
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #73 ·
End of July:

-- pork lettuce cups
-- fish, butternut
-- spinach salad
-- spaghetti with sausage
-- chicken taco bowl
-- hot dogs
-- ??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #74 ·
Can you believe it's August already? Trying to not use the oven this week:

-- kibbe, rice, pita
-- chicken marsala, veg
-- fish, slaw
-- beef fajitas, salad
-- chicken stir fry
-- egg salad sandwiches
-- leftovers
-- smoked chicken, potato salad
 
  • Like
Reactions: rujerro

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,130 Posts
After a solid month of "What's for dinner?" from the Fam (July is was a disorganized month for us, to put it mildly,) I was finally able to get people to sit down and commit to a menu this month. (This is a MASSIVE victory...) H is doing Mondays and every-second-Tuesday, DD14 is taking Wednesdays and Thursdays, DD17 is taking Fridays and Saturdays, and I am doing "Sundays, every-second-Tuesday, and in reality, helping all of them out practically every day." I am TRYING to get them all to the point where they can meal plan, shop, cook, store, and clean up on their own-- but the only one I am really having any success with is DD14.

Alas, this means a messier kitchen, more headaches, and an awful lot of menu choices that aren't thrilling... but they have to learn, right?
This week-
Beef stroganoff (using up leftover roast beef)
Manwich (using up burger buns from the fridge)
Kebabs (beef)
Spaghetti
Pork chops with lemon basil sauce
Beef and Broccoli
Burritos

Lunches SHOULD be a lot of stuff we already have, but time will tell. We have been SO bad lately! I'll have to do a quick shop tomorrow for a couple of things we need, but the little commissary on the base near here is not open today, so I will do that tomorrow. Meanwhile, I took DD17 with me last week and let her buy just about anything she wanted, so there are TONS of heat-and-eat options and I will feel no guilt at all telling them to fend for themselves! 😁

PS- my cat is snoring. Always makes me smile.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,126 Posts
Zhoen- Glad you were able to get the family involved with shopping/cooking/clean up...It's always a relief when everyone can do that. A snoring cat? Cute.

I was able to use leftovers and make meals...Here's my list:
  • Leftover casserole (combo of chicken/rice/chile sauce/tortillas/peppers/onions)
  • Chile linguine with a meat sauce (leftover items here)
  • Chicken & rice
  • Chicken noodle soup w/crackers
  • Ham w/ cheddar biscuits & spinach

I was able to make cookies today but really want to make a pie...We'll be buying cases of peaches and will make a pie if anyone is up for it...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #77 ·
Feeling lazy this week due to heat:

-- take out pizza
-- dinner & movie out
-- smoked chicken, potato salad
-- sloppy joes, tomato salad
-- chicken stir fry
-- salmon rice bowl
-- bacon mac&cheese
-- chicken?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #78 ·
Next week,

-- pork chops, spinach, potatoes
-- corned beef on rye, slaw
-- chicken, veg or salad
-- meatballs & gravy over polenta, salad
-- pork lettuce cups, edamame
-- chicken, veg or salad
-- salad nicoise (tuna and vegs)
 
  • Like
Reactions: marthamfi

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,126 Posts
I'm thawing 2 lbs ground beef and some kind of steaks- eye round? Not sure as they had ice on them. This week, here's the plan:
  • Beef stew (using homegrown carrots and beef eye round) w/barley
  • Rigatoni in a meat sauce w/ garlic bread
  • Chicken casserole (using leftovers)
-Leftover pizza
- Chicken tikka masala

I'll make cookies again. They wanted more and I make half a batch due to my lax behavior.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10,087 Posts
Discussion Starter · #80 ·
Using up what is in the fridge before vacation:

-- taco salad bowl
-- chicken, salad, pita?
-- chili dogs, coleslaw
-- pasta w/sausage, salad
-- chicken, potatoes
-- fish, carrots
-- ??
-- biscuits w/sausage gravy (breakfast)
 
  • Like
Reactions: marthamfi
61 - 80 of 106 Posts
Top