Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just online looking for a forum...somewhere to get some perspective that I sorely need.

I'm familiar with Dave Ramsey's concepts and find them sensical and beneficial. I am getting married soon for the first time and so I'm excited to start my life; however, I just got a new job after having been unemployed for 3 months. I have a Phd degree and am hoping my salary increases through the years. My fiance is not as motivated to improve herself as much as I would like and sort of depends on me to make the most money, etc.

Well, long story short, we did a budget and even with our combined salaries, we're still going to be "tight"! We want to buy a house, but can't even do that! We're living in a one- bedroom apartment and we would like to get a house. Unfortunately, with all our "expenses", we're just left with not much to work with. We are including tithe, retirement, and other things that are not "bad" bills; still, we're not able to afford a home. I'm just so discouraged and angry - with myself and my fiance. I'm angry with myself because I feel like a failure. Secondly, I'm angry with my fiance because she hasn't been promoted or given a raise in two years and she's okay with that. Yet, here I am constantly trying to find ways to make more money. I'm just confused and frustrated. I don't know what to do. I would appreciate any feedback. Thank you.

·
Premium Member
4,575 Posts
Welcome to Frugal Village.

Well, I wouldn't be too discouraged. First of all, you are not a failure, for cripes sakes you have a PhD! And second, Rome was not built in a day, give things some time.

Would you mind posting your budget? The folk here are great at finding holes and helping find that extra dollar.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Here is our budget...