Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just started trying to teach myself to paint...well I will keep it up..I am not doing so well right now. Does anyone have any tips that will help me select the right type of brushes? Anyone have an suggestions on books I might be able to get?
All your help is very much appreciated.

·
Master Dollar Stretcher aka AmyBob
5,738 Posts
Former art major here with a minor in watercolor. Of course, I haven't done much painting since I graduated college, but I miss it!

For brushes, it totally depends on what kind of painting you're doing. Watercolor? Oil? Acrylics? Each has different types of brushes available.

The same with paints. If you're learning to watercolor, don't use the dried cakes, get some in tubes. They're more expensive, but much better quality.

I will tell you not to buy the cheapest brushes, and stay away from anything designed for elementary children. In art school I tried to get by with some cheap school-quality brushes, and when I finally bought "good" brushes, I was amazed at the difference.

·
Registered
547 Posts
I have many gourds that I have grown and am waiting to learn to paint. Why am I waiting????????????? I have books, tapes, paints, brushes even websites that have online painting classes in my favorites. I guess I just need to put everything aside and go for it!!!

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I painted my first picture yesterday!!! Yeah! I think it turned out pretty good, well for my first time. It was an angel holding a star. I think I am gonna try and do some wood burning around my picture and then paint it next time. Will help in the outlining..don't you think?
thanks for the tip AmyMcgs.
Sundae, just jump right in..I did!