Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been searching for days now for a recipe to pressure cooked jojo potatoes and all I can find are ones that are either fried or baked.

I go to a farmers market and when I go I usually get some jojo potatoes, one day I asked them "Are these fried or baked?" he said they are pressure cooked, so today I went back and asked him just some info cause I knew he wouldnt give me the recipe but I said "You coat with flour and seasonings and put them in the pressure cooker right?" He said yeah but we make our own seasonings.

Now please note that I have never used a pressure cooker before, a friend of mine bought me one with the hopes that I can cook in it and then give her some recipes of the great things I come up with, so I thank her for her wonderful gift!

When you use a pressure cooker, do you add water, oil or just put the food in their and let the pressure cooker do it's magic? lol Can ya tell I am a newbie at this? :)

Thanks ladies!

·
Registered
1,853 Posts
Tracy, I must admit that we do not use our pressure cooker as often as we should, but you must add broth or water. Not alot but at least to cover about 1/2" of the bottom of the cooker. There are lots of good pressure cooker cookbooks out there. Check the library before starting cooking. I have never heard of JoJo potatoes so I am no help there.

We mostly cook chicken in it, so that when we put it on the grill it isn't on the grill so long that it gets blackened skin.

I hope that this helped you somewhat.

·
27,948 Posts
Sorry Tracy, you think I'm intimidated by pie crusts, pressure cookers rank higher. Dh uses it but I never have. Sorry, wish I could help.

·
Registered
9,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Ok so atleast when I am cooking the potatoes I would have to add a bit of water to it, that's a start so thanks! :)

·
Registered
674 Posts