Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Founder
19,054 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need to sort through all of this lawncare. It's been a long time since I did it myself. Does anyone use a spreader and do their own lawncare?

Ok, let me try and remember what I did and if anyone can let me know if I have forgotten something.

I always started out in the spring with grub killer because I hate skunks and moles and they love grubs, so grub killer is my main thing. LOL

Then still in early spring a fertilizer/turf builder of some sort. Preferably one that stops the crabgrass from growing.

Then by May some sort of weed killer. (to prevent dandelions) Have to make sure it's not a rainy week.

Then fertilize through summer. Prep in the fall with a fall/winter fertilizer.

I'm new in MI so am not sure if I will need to dethatch or aerate.

·
Founder
19,054 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
ok ok I heard ya the first time. roflmao

kidding..just being corny over here.

edited to add...
oh sure now you deleted it and I look even more like some weirdo. LOL

·
Registered
5,500 Posts
LOL you two crack me up! I am planning to weed and feed my lawn this month. I am in charge of all the mowing when dh is out of town. (which seems to be every time the grass needs mowing!) LOL

·
Registered
4,215 Posts
Sara, Dh says you do not want to put grub killer down in the spring as grubs are not active until September. He says July 1 would be a good time.

Now you need to use a pre-emergent fertilizer 22-0-06. Wait 30 to 40 days and do it again. That would be the crabgrass preventor.

After the second application, wait 30-40 days again, put down staight fertilizer 36-3-7. He reccomends Scott's or Anderson products. ( He says Anderson's bought out Scott's)

For grub control, use Merrit. For weed control use Trimec or Triplet.

On pre-emergent, put it down a 4 1/2 lb/1000 sq ft. On the straight fertilizer, 3 lb/1000 sq ft. Grub control 4 lb/1000sq ft.