Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did my first applique work yesterday! on the pooh quilt I am making! found a neat one!

its kind of ragged and you can tell its my first time....:laugh:

but wow that was fun!

I'll take a picture to share when I find my camera (moved my computer last weekend and put everything somewhere....:bang: )

of course I ran out of the green thread I need too....

·
Registered
6,281 Posts
ah, cant wait to see the pic of the applique!! I .ove seeing what others make with their hands too. I started a couple of years ago embroidery. 8/ 12 blocks were finished, to make a quilt. But i decided I'm going to put them in frames, when I find some on sale or at yard sales all the same size.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
I did a machine applique yesterday and used a stabilizer for the first time. It REALLY helped and I intend to use stabilizer for the other 31 I need for this quilt.

·
Registered
15,917 Posts
WTG ladies, I am an applique chicken. :chicken:

But I do have stabilizer in my sewing room so I may just try it again. Can't wait to see your pics. :)

·
Registered
23,290 Posts
Stabalizer is awesome when you come to doing machine applique. I use 505 temperary adhesive (very expensive, well worth it) whenever I do machine applique.

Just recently I learned how to use spray starch when it came to machine applique. Works perfect.

·
Registered
15,917 Posts
homesteadmamma said:
Just recently I learned how to use spray starch when it came to machine applique. Works perfect.
How do you use spray starch CJ? I always have that on hand.

·
Registered
23,290 Posts
Hope I can explain this so you understand. Let's say you are doing a heart. Cut our your heart, 1/4 inch wider than your pattern calls for. Cut out a heart from a piece of cardboard (cereal boxes work great) the same size as your heart pattern.