Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts
R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I am new to all of these concepts. Recently ran into Dave Ramsey and I find most of the baby steps very straight forward. The one that I have most trouble with is baby step 4. This is probably because I am still very green to investing. Being 34 with only my mortgage debt (and more than I need in savings) I decided to start putting my money into some mutual funds. I used the smart vestor program and met with a local coach yesterday.

Yesterday I learned the difference between investing in a growth vs value mutual funds. As we all know, Dave Ramsey recommends to diversify ourselves between four groups. Growth fund, Growth & Income fund, Aggressive Growth fund and International fund. The coach I met with recommended that my portfolio would include mostly value mutual funds instead of growth. Here is where my questions comes in.

Is it because of my situation/age that I am able to take a higher risk by investing in value instead of growth?

Is there an issue investing on value vs growth?

Is this something that I need to reconsider/walk away from?

Should I take the risk or find another coach?

I have been searching since I got home and there are opinions that sway for each side. This is the area where most people don't necessarily agree with Dave. I am just trying to get some more insight on the situation in order to keep moving forward.

Thank you in advance for any advice. It is much appreciated.

Rafael

·
Registered
423 Posts
Try "The Little Book of Common Sense Investing" by John Bogel, the founder of Vanguard. About $10 or $12 on Amazon. I found it to be a good concise description of what really works.