Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I was just thinking. I read DR's book and well i am just beginning the baby steps. I have most of my EF and will start a second job (part time) on Monday to pay towards debt. I also have been doing some research on simplifying my life and getting rid of a lot of my stuff. Stuff just does not mean much to me anymore and a reminder (partly) of why i have cc debt and i want to be happy with less! So i think about selling it or just getting rid of it but i just feel like i can't yet because of my cc debt. its like i haven't even paid for it yet. I think once i start to pay off my cc debt, i will be able to let go. Less stuff...less clutter...a simpler life. Any one else feel this way when they began DR's babysteps? I guess if i sold some things and put the money towards debt i would feel ok but i would prob not get what i paid for it and therefore not make much of a difference. I am going to work very hard at my second job and try to pay off all my cc as soon as i can. You guys are sooo helpful. I love ready your posts!

·
Moderator aka AmyBob
12,038 Posts
Maybe you could try letting go of a few, smaller things to get yourself started. Once you start to see things go, it has a snowball effect and you start to want to get rid of it all. There have to be some things laying around that aren't being used, but that also were not part of your debt. Maybe even if it isn't something to sell, but things you can give away and feel good that you are helping others?

Reactions: mamamia

·
4,028 Posts
I am trying to achieve a less cluttered home. Months ago I packed up the china hutch and amazingly there are very few items that I miss. Perhaps putting things in a box and tucked away will let you start to realize the importance (or lack) of the possessions.

Reactions: Early Bird

·
Registered
151 Posts