Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
816 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in need of a new printer/copier. Mine is an HP, and although this one has served me well, the cost of ink is rediculous, and the refills or referbished ones don't work in the machine. I am so frustrated, having to spend near $30 to replace ink. For $50, I can get a new printer that not only comes with ink, but where the ink is cheaper to replace. So I have come down to 2 units... The Cannon, and the Kodak. Does anyone have experience with either?

Another question - which might sound dumb, but really I have never done this before, so I don't know. I have several documents saved up in my print queue. I know that the queue is specific to the printer that I have now that won't work because the "official" ink cartridge was out of ink (and when I refilled it, the printer no longer recognized it) and the refurbished one I bought is also not recognized. I don't want to "loose" these docs - can I transfer them to the new printer once I get it hooked up?

THANK YOU for any advice you have :)

PS - I am not using the printer to print anything extravagant. I am a homeschooling mom who relies on the copier and printer to get through the school day - oh... and also COUPONS. Lots and lots of coupons :)

·
8,714 Posts
~Smart of you to consider the cost of ink! We bought a $20 Lexmark printer on BF and I never considered the price of ink. Ours are $20 each. Ack!
Have you considered one that's a few years old like on CL? Ink is usually cheaper on older models.
We had a 2000 HP and the ink had gone down to $4 each by the time it broke(2009).~

·
Registered
816 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ours is pretty old - maybe 5 years or so, but the ink is still rediculous! LOL I think the HP's, because they keep making printers with the same cartridge model, the cost never goes down. I will look into that for other models, tho.

·
Registered
906 Posts