Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to make new things for dinner and cut down on the spending, my mother gave me a brand new crockpot that she never used today, but I am scared to death to leave it running all day while I am at work. I have NEVER used one of these before and I am scared of a fire... please tell me I'm crazy ;)

·
Registered
3,849 Posts
OK. [in kind and gentle tone of voice] "You're crazy."

Seriously, I would not worry about a crock pot fire. Although there is a possibility for everything, I have not ever heard of this.

But use common sense. Don't set the pot on a towel, for example, or next to a roll of paper towels. I have used a crock pot for over 30 years and never had a bit of trouble. If you are really worried, use it for the first time when you are home so that you can get a sense of how it works.

Enjoy!

Reactions: Xadrian

·
Registered
900 Posts
Oh gosh...I thought you were gonna post about some new defect or something. Nope, never had a problem with my crock pots. I have used mine a lot in the last 15 years. So much that I bought a second smaller one at goodwill. I wanted the smaller one for side dishes and nacho cheese dip. It was $2 and it matched my big one and my kitchen decor. :D

·
Registered
5,605 Posts
I read the title wrong and thought it said Crockpot Fries. I was thinking cool you can cook fries in the crockpot. LOL

I use my crockpot a lot to no fires. My counter does get a bit hot underneath it so I put silicone heating pads under it when in use. No more hot counter. Not sure it is necessary but it eases my mind.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
I guess I look at it this way... we don't unplug our refrigerators when we go to work. And it's no different than leaving our furnace on.