Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
16,430 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So how many of you are Third Agers who still stay at home to take care of things?

I have health issues which kind of preclude working outside the home...unless it is in a very congenial environment. I struggle with anxiety, depression and stress a lot. DH also has expectations on me that if I work I still have to do all the housework too. I've been told by my doctors my back is too bad to do any lifting over 5-10 lbs. And I'm not to sit or stand for more than an hour at a time. Needless to say, I can't imagine what a prospective employer would think of all that!

So I've stayed home.

However, DH is driving me crazy. Every day he comes home and holds an inquisition. So what did you do today? Is that all you did today? Or he looks at me expectantly like I should elaborate on what I said. Or he'll look at what I did with disdain or disinterest, as if it didn't matter. I'm an artist by nature. I create things. DH doesn't exactly appreciate that. :(

I don't know. I feel lazy. I feel like I should be doing more. But I know if I do my health will cave somewhere and I won't be able to cope. Plus I'll leave someone in the lurch...employer/co-workers.

I've thought about going out to work. But I think ultimately that would lead to having to make a choice between my marriage or my job. I can't do both. I just don't have the emotional stamina to handle both.

Instead I fill my days with crafting for charity and frugality sake. I do frugal things around the house/community to help us save money.

How do you/would you handle this situation?

·
Registered
1,435 Posts
I have no advice.....I just can't imagine. In all the 12+ years I've been a SAHW, my dh has NEVER questioned how I spend my days/time/chores, etc!
Some days I do a lot...some days I do very little. We manage....
I'm really sorry he makes you feel this way :-(

·
Registered
64 Posts