Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,746 Posts
Not exactly a recipe, but dishwasher detergent often does the job. It is at least less expensive than drain cleaner.

·
Registered
1,143 Posts
I run a coffee pot of vinigar in my coffee pot every month or so to clean it...while it is going through the coffee pot I place a cup of bakeing soda into my kitchen sink...when the vinigar is run through my coffee pot I pour it over the bakeing soda..it will bubble up good..fill the coffee pot with clear water and run it to rinse the coffee pot and each pot of hot water runs down the drain...when we did some redoing the drains when we moved a sink this spring my drains were all clean that we cut into...You want to make sure that your run a good sink of hot water down behind the soda vinigar it all...I have been using this for 10 years now..

·
Registered
74 Posts
My DH kept pouring this chemical laden dangerous drain opener down the drain until we disovered the Zip It! Baking soda and vinegar does not clean the wads and wads of hair out of our bathroom tub drain.

But Zip it does. You can re-use it over and over again, and it cleans it out in a minute or so. So easy and only around 2 dollars at Walmart!

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
we spent 10$ on a mini snake to pull any hair out and we use the baking soda and vinegar method we use white vinegar and it bubbles all up and drains it well.

·
Registered
540 Posts
How much baking soda/vinegar?? We don't do coffee pots..

·
Registered
81 Posts
For sink/tub we use a plastic tool we found at Wal Mart. We found it near the toilet supplies. It is very long about 2-3 ft long, thin & white. On the edges there are little teeth sticking out. You push it into the sink drain. When you pull it out, the teeth grab hair and remove it. yuck...but it works like a charm. Best of all, it's reusable, doesn't hurt your pipes and it was about $3.00.

·
Registered
831 Posts