Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I haven't had much experience with dried beans. Most of the time I go with canned beans when I cooked. I know enough to soak them overnight and drain before using them. But after that, I'm still a bit of a novice. I think the last time I tried using dried beans, I added them too late to the soup. So the beans were still a bit al dente, I guess you could say. Am I just not letting the beans cook long enough? (I'm thinking of using my crockpot, rather just on the stove top.)

·
Registered
1,109 Posts
A crock pot works great! I have a big crock pot so I put in 6 cups of dry beans and add as much cold water as I can without worrying about it boiling over. I cook them on low overnight and add salt when they are done. If you add the salt before they are tender, they will not cook as well or as quickly. We eat beans every day so most people wouldn't want to cook 6 cups of dry beans at one time.

The reason I add cold water is that I want it to take time to warm up and soak the beans a bit.

I also cook beans in a pressure cooker. Again don't add the salt until they are tender.

·
Registered
3,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice on the salt. I never would've thought of that. I don't mind cooking a larger batch of beans even though I'm not cooking for a lot people since I can always freeze the leftovers if I have to.