Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,972 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd love to hear some spring salad ideas that everyone finds to be economical, regardless of the country you live in.

We're firing up the grill this week and I would LOVE to hear some ideas on what to serve with items like burgers, grilled meats like chicken and pork, etc. :)

I know about potato salad, coleslaw and pasta salad, but I'm looking for more ideas. I also love macaroni salad but very few of us will actually eat it. We'd do Caesar salad too but I'm not sure if the cost is worth it.

·
Registered
1,158 Posts
I love to grill veggies. Right now I can get green zucchini pretty cheap. I cut it lengthwise so it's in log strips. Then I marinate it for 30 minutes and throw them on the grill.

Zucchini marinade (sorry, I'm an eye-ball it cook):
-olive oil
-balsamic vinegar
-season salt
-black pepper
-adobo seasoning

If I can get Portobello mushrooms, I'll grill those too. If not, I just get the big regular mushrooms. I grill them upside down and put some mozarella cheese on top to melt and just sprinkle some seasoning over it

·
Registered
9,304 Posts
We'd do Caesar salad too but I'm not sure if the cost is worth it.
How do you figure this? I find caesar salad is pretty cheap, lettuce, croutons (which we usually skip) and dressing with a light sprinkle of parmesan. I do a lot of these when tomatoes get up to $3-4 a pound. I also make my own dressing for pennies.

This looks like a good recipe: Caesar Salad Recipe

There's some up front costs with the anchovy and parmesan, but you use so little and it lasts in the fridge forever.

·
Registered
12,986 Posts
I just don't think you can go wrong with pasta..........and anything goes ............plus, when bought on sale......it is CHEAP!

I like fruit salads too..........again........whatever I have to toss together.....but they aren't always cheap....depending on season.

·
Registered
5,428 Posts