Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
months to balance your checkbook!!! :eek:

I just did this as I was off with the bank for $386.42. So I figured I better get it done. Little did I know how long it had been since I last did this. I found lots of bank statements I hadn't even opened yet!! :yikes: All the way back to last January!!

It has only taken me 5 1/2 hours to finish. Now I'm only off by $2.86. I can live with that. :)

I have never done this before (waited so long to balance it) usually I do it every month. Just got lazy I guess. From now on, it is a monthy chore again. At least it won't take 5 1/2 hours!! :toothy:

·
Registered
3,310 Posts
That is a good tip! I get all my stuff online so that makes it a little bit easier!

·
27,948 Posts
My first thought was-:yikes:

Then-:dis: (poor you sitting there for hours as the cats listen to you swearing)

Now that your done and have learned your lesson-:thumb:

·
Registered
8,337 Posts
dh does it the day the statement arrives .........
He works on it till it balances to the penny !
It's usually in good shape........
Good advice !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
2,262 Posts
i have about 6 months worth of bank statements i haven't opened yet either. BUT i do go online and balance the check book every few days. it only takes 5 minutes if i check at least once a week.

·
Spendthrift Guru aka KarlaBob
1,479 Posts
Wow..no wonder it took you 5 1/2 hrs. I check mine online all the time...its easier for me that way.

·
Registered
895 Posts
I balance mine by checking my account online at least once a week, sometimes more. I'm anal about the checkbook. It has to balance to the penny all the time or I'm not happy. I worked in a bank for 6 years and I think that's why. LOL!!

·
Premium Member
21,255 Posts
*cough* I never balance mine :( My dh got me into that bad habit when I met him, and I've never been able to go back :(--and he's an accountant! :eek: