Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Forgive me if someone already posted something similar, I didn't know what to search for. I have this problem with meal plans. I've been doing them for at least 2 years now and it seems like no matter how I do it, we always end up with not much to eat and/or we run out before payday! (and when I say run out, I mean no meat of any kind, no milk, no bread, you get the idea)

I'm really fed up with it and will take to heart anyone's advice because I have to figure this out. So what have I been doing:

Ok I started doing plans for 2 weeks, because we would go grocery shopping every 2 weeks (payday). I'd do 10 meals with the other days being leftover days (planned into the week). Leftover days would be right after I'd make a BIG dinner...or at least what I planned to be a big dinner. (sometimes there's no leftovers for leftover days)

Oh and I should say the 1st year was just my husband and I, then our child began eating regular food (the 2nd year). We are now going into the 3rd year, so my child will be eating more I'm assuming by the end of this year.

I saw the 10 meal plan wasn't working so I changed it. I thought that because we'd get this surplus of food all at once, we'd eat a lot (esp. the yummy quick foods), and end up with nothing by the middle of the 2nd week. So we began doing weekly grocery shopping (and yes we went up on the budget in hopes of having enough through the week). It worked fine at first (and every blue moon we'd be ok up to the day to go shopping again). I was doing a weekly meal plan. Then again the bottom fell out and for most weeks by THURSDAY food would be low and we'd struggle or eat out until Saturday shopping.