Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I can't give out my real name, so you can call me Newton. I'm a 19-year-old boy with several chronic illnesses/disabilities, and I have a very bad spending habit and, I fear, a nascent hoarding problem. I sorely need to break away from my "spending addiction" and get in control of my finances before I end up under power of attorney! :vs_blush: I'd very much like to move out soon and I'd need to live within my means if I were to.

I feel I'm financially doomed, as I've been declined for a loan by Wonga and Sunny, declined for a credit card by Tesco and Luma, and it seems every day I get a letter from my bank chastising me for an unplanned overdraft or a bounced payment. I'm somewhat despairing over my finances.

I'm an artist, musician, writer (all very much amateur!), and record collector. I must find ways to make my hobbies use up less money.

That's all for me.

·
Registered
6,988 Posts
While your living at home is a prime time to save that cash. I think cutting back a bit you will be surprised what you can do. First of all keep track of every thing you spend as a start. Do you know how to budget yet? YNAB is an excellent budget program and it is free to try. Mint is another that is free to use.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
While your living at home is a prime time to save that cash. I think cutting back a bit you will be surprised what you can do. First of all keep track of every thing you spend as a start. Do you know how to budget yet? YNAB is an excellent budget program and it is free to try. Mint is another that is free to use.
Thank you, Nodmicks. I've looked at YNAB before but it's just too expensive. I've just started to track things on pen and paper. I've got a "to do" A4 notebook that has the same sort of lines as ledger paper and I'm colour coding the category of purchase/expenditure.

·
Registered
5,858 Posts