Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm a recent college graduate living on my own in Boston. I found your community while researching tips/info on how to live frugally/save money. Right now I face the challenge of finding quality furniture at a (low) price that I can afford. Any tips on how to find inexpensive furniture that won't fall apart as soon as I assemble it? Thanks for any tips/advice :vibes:

·
Registered
3,373 Posts
Hi and :welcome: Have you looked at places like Craigslist or Freecycle. I live in an apt. and people post the furniture they are selling (usually posted in our laundry room or by the mailboxes), very inexpensive items and it's right in the area I live in, so not far to haul the furniture finds. We also place gently used items that are no longer needed by the dumpster (kitchen chairs, desks, ect...) that way fellow neighbors can claim it if they want. Have you checked your local thrift stores? You might want to try to buy gently used before buying new. My sister just moved to Boston for her job and most of her furniture (mine too) we have found at yardsales, thrift stores, or hand me downs from family. Good Luck :).

·
8,714 Posts
~I got some great pieces at The Salvation Army. You will need to get there as soon as it opens on Saturday and bring a truck to haul away your furniture. They will not hold it for you(at least they won't here). Remember, almost everything can be painted or recovered! I like getting real furniture(not that particle board stuff). Yard sales and auctions are also a good source for furniture. Do an internet search for auction houses and auctioneers in your area. Years ago my grandpa got a fabulous Ethan Allen table for less than a pair of new jeans! Plus, auctions are very entertaining! Welcome to FV!~

·
Registered
1,014 Posts