Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Over the past few days we've gotten some hints that we have a problem with our electical system at home. Our dining room chandelier is buzzing when it is on, there is an electrical smell in the bathroom and our hardwired fire alarm went off last night.

We live on a farm, our house is over 200 years old and it's the time of year for an increase in animals trying to get into the house where it is warm. I'm concerned we've had something in the walls or attic that has chewed on the wires.

Is there anything we can do to check or test this? I'm very concerned, but what am I supposed to tell an electrician without him recommending total rewiring (which we know we will have to do at some point soon, we just don't have the money yet).

Any ideas how we can test it on our own?

·
Registered
689 Posts
I'm not an electrician, but I did rewire my old house.About the only way to "test" your wiring is to look at it. If your chandelier is buzzing and it's not fluorescent, it's probably arcing in the box in the ceiling...not a good thing. Don't use it. An "electric smell" comes from hot wiring, either from an overload or arcing. Smoke detectors go off for a reason. Even if you can't smell smoke, it may be picking up on some ionization that's going to be smoke in the very near future.

You can try isolating your circuits (figure out which circuit goes where and does what) and see what load you have on each one. If you are in a really old house that hasn't had it's electrical updated since it was first installed, you may only have a 60 amp service. A couple space heaters could use 30 amps of that. Throw in a fridg, freezer, water pump, toaster, coffee maker, microwave, and a handful of light bulbs and you'll have an over-loaded system. To counter an over-loaded system, you then put in higher rated fuses and you get overheated wiring that WILL burn your house down.