Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
565 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I myself was homeschooled on and off and I believe in it completely and plan on homeschooling my two children when the times comes.
Does anyone here have any experience homeschooling a child with severe disabilities( home bound, tube fed, severe Cp,mental retadation and much more). I can't imagine sending him to public school so that isn't even an option to me. He needs 24-7 one on one care and he can get that here at home!:tay:

·
Registered
519 Posts
I used to be a nurse at a state facility for the mentally retarded. One of the best things I ever used was flash cards. I'm not sure of your child's functional level and what he already knows. With your child's condition(s) it can vary greatly, as I'm sure you already know. I did see the non-verbal part. I had many clients that were nonverbal. I simply watched for other cues such as eye movement, nodding, etc. Does your child participate in any type of therapy (speech, occupational, etc)?

Stephanie

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
I homeschool my 'typically developing' children, but I'm also a nurse who has worked with kids like your child.

I think homeschooling would be a great idea, because you know him best. I would be a wee bit leary of one thing. I think because of his disability, I think powers that be will watch you a bit more closely than usual.

Here are the basics of hs'ing in Missouri: http://www.hslda.org/laws/default.asp?State=MO Looks like a fairly 'easy' state in which to homeschool.

A couple of other considerations:
1. In public school, he would get lots of therapy services for free (speech & occupational therapies, at minimum).
2. You may or may not be able to get those same services through the school system while you homeschool.
3. What about you? Do you have a good support system for respite?

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
I am a sibling of a severely disabled child. He would have turned 50 last month.