Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay, i am sure this is a dumb question, but i know nothing about quilting. how could i get started in quilting? what would you recommend for a newbie? no one in my family quilts... *sigh*

·
Registered
2,116 Posts
I'm mostly self taught via the internet and books. There are some great sites and tutorials out there.

If you don't want to research or don't have time, many quilt shops offer various classes.

When in doubt, just grab some scrap fabric and start sewing!!!

·
Premium Member
21,255 Posts
Take a look at the stickies at the top of this forum. Lots of great tutorials and links to sites that can help.

My mom quilts, but she lives 450 miles away, so I am self-taught. There are lots of quilting books that can help you, but my favorite is this one:

Amazon.com: Quilter's Complete Guide: Marianne Fons, Liz Porter: Books

(if you buy that one, try to get the one with the spiral binding--it's much easier to use while working when it lays flat) :)

I also like this one:

Amazon.com: The Quilters Ultimate Visual Guide: From A to Z-- Hundreds of Tips and Techniques for Successful Quiltmaking: Ellen Pahl: Books

You may want to see if you can get those at the library before you buy them.

Also, there are lots of threads in this forum that can help, and we have several quilters who can help too.

HTH! :)

·
8,714 Posts
~If you can hand sew a straight stitch, you can quilt! A wonderful lady started me out when I was 16 with a small square of pre-printed quilt block. The idea was to get used to the 'feel' of quilting and then finish it into a potholder. When I was ready to start a real quilt I bought a book called "Your First Quilt Book(or it should be!)" and made a baby quilt from one of its patterns. The directions were easy and the quilt came out perfect!~

·
Registered
2,116 Posts