Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
after doing our budget we have just enough to cover all the basic expenses except our emergency fund, car repair/tires, home repairs, Christmas fund,and license and tags. i am a firefighter and could potentially have more income in the next few months but we are planning the budget with what we KNOW we will have for the month. i know the EF MUST be funded or we will get nowhere but while there is no $$ for these items am i in crisis mode? i am new to this so could use the help. thanks

·
Registered
48 Posts
I am sure Greebo will have more wisdom than I, but I would say you are in crisis mode. You are only one unforeseen event away from deeper in debt.

I would think that you need to do one or more of the following:

Sell anything you can do without and put the proceeds toward your emergency fund. See his expanded BS 0.6 "Amputate "toys" (bikes, boats, ATV's etc) if they will keep you from completing the snowball within 12 months"

Decrease monthly expenses by reducing where you can (utility use, grocery bills, gasoline) until you can free up money for your emergency fund. See expanded BS 0.7 Cut lifestyle (Cut CATV, Cellphone, Regular phone "extra's", Internet, Eating out, etc) and/or take second job if $1000 EF will take more than 30-90 days. (depending on income)

I'm not saying starve yourself, or freeze, but look for every angle you can.

Then, when that extra work comes along, you will be in a better position to take advantage of it.

·
Registered
13,930 Posts
If you lost the ability to work tomorrow how would you fair?
How long before savings are gone?
Do you owe more than you own?
Are you late on anything?
Are you on track for retiring on schedule?
How big of an emergency would it take to sink you?
Do you know exactly what you owe?
Do you have disability?enough life ins? Can you live on that? can your family?
Pretty sure you are just A small crisis away.