Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
995 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I joined here last year and I have been looking for a while on the forum and have posted a couple of weeks ago on the 'Welcome Wagon'.
When I have been reading the posts - and getting a LOAD of inspiration at the same time - I noticed something that I have to ask.

There are a lot of members with - for example -
an emergency fund
a car repair fund
a gift fund
etc etc.

In a lot of cases there is also a list under this with the various debts
credit card
student loan
etc etc.

Now here are my questions (please be patient with me since I am new to this and I have a LOT to learn).
How do you decide whether or not to put money into paying off a debt or to build up one of the funds.
Also how do you decide which fund needs to be built up at that time?
Say for example I have 10 Euros left over from grocery shopping (I wish!!!) -
where would I put it? Would I split it up over the various 'funds' or just leave it in the account or even put it into a savings account?

(See how much I have to learn - I have no clue - but I DESPERATELY need to get this organized!!!)

Any input would be more than welcome - plus any tips - please!!!!
Thank you.

·
8,714 Posts
~Welcome to FV! Alot of us follow Dave Ramsey's system. He has written several common sense financial books. I personally read "Total Money Makeover". He breaks down his system into 7 baby steps.
#1 is save $1000 for an emergency fund.(don't know how that translates to Euro)An emergency fund is for car repairs and appliance replacement and deductables on a an insurance claim. Basically a stash of ready cash so you won't have to use a credit card in an emergency.