Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
667 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, It's been a while since I last posted here. We've run into some financial difficulty recently because of job loss and now I feel like we're stuck until I find something full time.

A little background. My daughter was born in 2006. At that time my husband was working full time with medical benefits and so on. Good job. I worked part time as a caretaker of an apartment building just to stay home with daughter and get a discount on rent. A big one. We only paid $400 in rent and I got paid for turn overs. It was a nice little set up.

However, We wanted out of Minneapolis and into a house. We moved into a house with a nice yard and in a nice area. Good schools nearby for my daughter when she starts school. We decided to live by choice with family. Not out of necessity. We share a home with my husbands parents. We have altered the house so it has separate living spaces. We share a kitchen. They have the down stairs and we have the upstairs.

We split the house payment $650 a month.

They pay most utilities, which they picked to do so we could save up. (I was so thankful for this!) They pay garbage, electric, and water.

We paid phone and they added DirectTV and Internet to our bill which we do not use. So, we remove about $110 a month from our rent and pay that full bill. So our house payment is about $540 a month.

We had cable and cell phones. We all share groceries and some household items.

It has worked for all of us wonderfully for two years.

During the time we have lived in this arrangement husband worked full time, I stayed at home with daughter and did some childcare for a family members infant. Brought in a small amount of money a week.

Then it happened... Husband lost his job which was our main source of income in May of this year. He quickly gained another job at lower pay and in a shop that wasn't as busy. (He's a body piercer/Tattoo artist.)