Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i'm curious if anyone else lives "G-free" (as they like to call it now)... be it thru choice or b/c of celiac.

I'm new to being gluten intolerant & am so far ok with the choices I have... I'm not (currently) interested in baking/cooking w/different flours - as I'd rather just eliminate that from my diet entirely.

I would like to know about challenges, bumps in the road, how your family (if not G-free) supports or deals with your needs.
What advice, recommendations do you have for me, new to this, not having a family who is intolerant, but still expects me to be the main "chef". I'm not celiac, so I don't have severe reactions to being around gluten containing foods.

I'd like to hear your stories... happy, sad, challenging, or easy breezy. :)

·
Registered
1,109 Posts
DS is allergic to gluten but is not celiac. He is 34 and first got sick at about 16. We found out about the various allergies when he was 19. He really missed bready stuff so I've learned to make various breads for him. His other allergies (dairy, eggs, soy, garbanzos, and much more) hamper the bread-making. Most GF recipes use eggs and soy a lot. Searching the internet for vegan gf recipes turned up some goodies. He doesn't care for sweets so desserts are not an issue. He makes some awesome corn tortillas starting with shelling the corn and making the hominy.

·
Registered
3,035 Posts
I have a friend who is GF. She probably is Celiac's, but she has to go back on gluten to get tested and she isn't willing to do that.

She actually when grain-free other than like chia, millet, or quinoa or that sort of stuff. She only ate corn tortillas once in a blue moon. She dropped a ton of weight when she did that.

·
Registered
1,934 Posts