Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I am fairly new to fv and still finding my way around, thought I would post my "success" so far.
In the last couple of months I have paid off 2 loans and 3 credit cards to the tune of over $8000.00.

The new plan:
refinanced house dropped payment to $730
will start putting all my paychecks in savings and hope to pay house off in 2 years.
Goal is to start living on hubbys check alone! Oh no, I have been put on a budget reduction diet!!!
Only other payments (besides regular living expenses) are two car payments, one that will pay off
in about 15 months.

Emergency fund over $1000
change jar~ several hundred so far. I NEVER spend any change, and will break a dollar instead!!!

·
Registered
9,916 Posts
Way to go on the pay offs. Wishing you luck on your goals!

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
When I planned to quit work (the first time - long story), we transitioned our budget so we paid for everything from hubby's paycheck for a year except for the taxes that my income generated and my working expenses (we didn't have daycare but I would have included that so the other expenses were gas, clothing, lunches out, etc). I immediately adjusted the tax withholding on hubby's paycheck to reflect what it would if we were living on his paycheck alone. My paycheck took the bulk of the other taxes.

While we were waiting out the year to see if there would be any financial surprises to see if we'd have to tap my paycheck, we socked away my check into savings (we were already debt-free). It was an amazing experience because it really did take some adjusting to learn to live on one paycheck.

Good luck. You've got a good plan.

·
Registered
394 Posts
Wow that's great keep up the good work.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you for the atta boys!

CookieLee, it will be an adjustment! I am eligible to retire from my job, but plan to work for several