Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've shared bits and pieces of my frugal journey on several threads at FV.  However, I've never really shared all the nitty gritty...basically, the numbers.  Tonight, I just completed a financial analysis of my situation.  Throughout my life, I've been an inconsistent financial manager.  I've always been wise with my money in finding "good deals".  I've saved, spent wisely, and have always worked two jobs.  My weakness has been crunching the numbers.  No, it's not that I don't like math, nothing like that.  It just seemed like I was always busy, and being a procrastinator, just never took the time to look at the bottom line.  Tonight, I found the bottom line.  Why did I finally do it?  Well, my financial situation is changing beginning January 1st. 

My husband's job is ending effective December 31st.  The owner of the company has decided to close down its base in our area.  It's not due to the economy, there is plenty of business out there.  I've been wanting my husband to leave this company for a LONG time.  He has been underpaid for years.  On the positive side, he's had a fairly consistent paycheck this year.  So, he is left with several options.  He can move(not an option for us right now) and work in another location, look for a new job, or start his own business.  He's opted for starting his own business.  He has plenty of contacts, and he could have a successful business on his own.  He would have to invest in equipment which isn't cheap.  I fully support his decision to do this.  It is something he really wants to do.  If it doesn't work out, he can always get a job.  However, going from two incomes down to one income is a little scary.  Even if he gets a bunch of business, companies can take 30-90 days to pay for services rendered.