Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,898 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started painting my rec room and it looks horrible :(

I was originally going to paint it light green, hoping for a 'cottagey' look, but then I painted the upstairs bathroom and my daughter's room green, so I decided that the rec room would be too much (plus, I don't even like green)

I decided to paint it yellow. I took home every yellow paint chip in the store, finally selected one that I thought was nice and bought 2 gallons of it. I wish I'd bought one to start., but knew I'd need 2 to finish the room and didn't want to risk them not matching.

Now it looks like a lemon threw up on the wall.

I can't return the paint, and I can't bring myself to go out and buy it again (and probably end up with something just as bad).

Has anyone ever used a glaze? I normally don't like faux finishes, but I just need something to tone this down. The colour itself is not horrible, just too bright. If I had a glaze mixed in a more brown tone and put it over it, would that stop the room from glowing? Is it possible to just paint a glaze on and not have to do any smearing around. Or is anything I do just going to look dirty.

·
Registered
693 Posts
I have tried Behr Faux finishing where I added glaze to paint and used a firm type of rag/clothing to roll it onto the wall. I always used white walls to save $$ on paint though.
I did try faux on a aqua wall and the aqua was so dense the faux did not show up.
If I were you I would go to Home Depot or wherever you can find a free Behr faux color chart. Look for one combination with a yellow like the one you used on the wall, and see what color was "glazed" over the yellow and if you like the results. Or try Behr.com and search faux...
BTW the rolling technique is very fast and easy and I liked it but hubby did not.:screwy:
Have Fun!!!:cheergrl:

I started painting my rec room and it looks horrible :(