Frugal Village Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
867 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interviewing for a full-time term appointment as a Mathematics Instructor next week. This semester I have been an adjunct instructor for chemistry, which is my first teaching experience (I've TAed before and tutored before, but this is my first time being "the man").

I want to be prepared for the question, "What is your philosophy of education?" However, at this point I don't really know what this means.

Could anyone suggest some good website to do some reading so that I can make good use of my finite preparation time as I stay afloat with end of semester grading and work on the lectrure I'll be giving for the interview?

Thanks!

·
Moderator aka AmyBob
12,041 Posts
It means, basically, what do you view as the function and purpose of education, as well as the role of teacher.

For example, my philosophy of education is that the teacher needs to be more of a facilitator and guide, as opposed to the sole owner of knowledge. Then I would go into my feeling on why we educate children, etc. I've asked this question to many, many prospective teachers in my district. It is an important question.

·
Registered
3,849 Posts
I'm a mostly retired teacher, but my philosophy is that I should be the guide on the side and not the sage on the stage.

I cannot "lay some learning" on a student; the student must find ways to absorb and internalize the knowledge. I am a fan of discovery learning, where I set up some guidelines for projects and then step aside as the students explore and learn. I'm there to help them, but I always encouraged them to keep on thinking ahead. When they run into problems, I'm there to advise and help.

I'm proud to say that my students have gone far over the decades, so I really feel this style of education works. My best to you!

·
19,119 Posts