Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! What an awesome resource. I'm so happy to have found this forum.

My name is Brianna and I am a newlywed. Before my dad would give my husband his blessing to propose, we had to attend Financial Peace University once and volunteer to help with the program a second time. I rolled my eyes at the time, but I think it has been incredibly useful for our communication about money as a couple!

Here are the basics about our financial situation:

We are 24 years old. He is an entry-level engineer who makes 65k/year. I am a first-year teacher who makes 33k/year, making our annual income pre-tax just under 100k. We contribute to our retirement plans the max that is matched by our employers (I think it's 3% for each of us). We can very comfortably put away 2k/month in savings. We have no debt - no credit cards, no student loans, no car payments, etc. We live in a small-ish town that is very inexpensive - our rent is $750 a month for a house with a yard. We are happy in this neighborhood and the house is quite nice, it just isn't ours. We would like to live in our own home for a bit before we start a family.

We are currently using our 2k/month savings to build an emergency fund and also gazelle-style saving for a truck (which we will pay for in cash of course). After we purchase the truck, we will be saving for a down payment on a home. We have decided we are comfortable in the 200-250k range for a home (I know that's a big range, but we're a ways from buying and we'll narrow it down more as we get closer). If we can shave a bit of our budget and save $2500/month, we can save around 30k in a year.

If our house is at the top of the range we are looking at, that 30k downpayment is only 12% and even at 200k, the down payment is only 15%. For our schedules (as I am also in grad school), it is almost imperative that we move in the summer.