Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well, I am doing a garage sale with the neighborhood May 11 and 12 and i've NEVER done a garage sale before. i've been to pleanty but never put one on. anyone have any suggestions????? thanks!

·
Registered
3,760 Posts
Here's a suggestion I read in TWG -- take clippings from flyers of items that are similar, if not exactly, like the ones you're selling. When people are reminded that buying a brand new blender is $30, they're more likely to buy yours for $10, etc.

Ooooooh, yard sale season is starting soon! I'm getting all tingly! Can't wait, can't wait!!!

·
Registered
663 Posts
Questions

I've done different kinds - no clothes, no electronics, etc. Make sure you have plenty of change. Make sure you have tables. Get stuff off the ground. Put BIG signs of the prices for the big items so people can see if from the street. Have a separate person deal only with the money. Another person can wander around, squabble the prices, rearrange and clean up, bag, etc. It is a lot of work but I've managed to 1) get rid of a lot of c-r-a-p AND make $$$!! It's usually worth the effort. Have a game plan for what's left over - donate, ebay, pitch, etc. ORGANIZE everything well in advance and ask for help!

Enjoy the sale!!

·
Registered
1,824 Posts