Frugal Village Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I'm new to Dave Ramsey. I'm reading TMMO and I've done quite a bit of research online about the babysteps etc. First I jumped straight into step 2 and realized ... duh... that's not going to work! But I got smart and am working on our $1000 EF now.

So questions about the budget. If I set a budget and have a little extra left in the grocery fund, does that go into the snowball (when I get there) or do I roll it over to help out with the next week's budget?

For now it's obviously going into the EF, but I was just wondering about the budget when I'm in BS 2. Also, what about things like a clothing budget that I won't spend every month, but when I need it, I need it?

I'll probably get these answers and more as I get further in the book. But I thought I would ask.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
Variable budget line items rarely equal actual expenditures. There are different ways to handle it. For now, put into your baby emergency fund. What if your actual had gone above budget? What would you have done? Once you have your baby emergency fund fully funded, if you are following Dave's plan, extra will go to your snowball. Just be careful if you decide $1,000 is all you're keeping in an emergency fund. You will have to be very accurate on your budgeted line items so you don't go over budget. Also, because budgets are only estimates, it will be necessary to continually monitor and modify your line items. That's why Dave suggests budget meetings with your spouse.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Kim!